Southern Tagalog Region (Region 4) PART 5 Historical Sites & Landmarks , MABUHAY PHILIPPINES!!


Romblon is an archipelagic province of the Philippines located in the Mimaropa region. Its main islands include Tablas, the largest, which covers nine municipalities, Sibuyan with its three towns, as well as the smaller island municipalities of Corcuera, Banton, Concepcion, San Jose, and Romblon, the provincial capital. The province lies south of Marinduque and Quezon, east of Oriental Mindoro, north of Aklan and Capiz, and west of Masbate. Romblon has been inhabited by aboriginal Filipinos prior to the arrival of the Spanish in 1569. Archaeological artifacts recovered by the National Museum in 1936 indicate that the aborigines of Romblon already have a rich and advanced culture. The inhabitants of Romblon are divided into three ethnolinguistic groups: Romblomanon, Onhan and Asi. These groups occupy specific islands in the province and have their own language and customs. It also has a lucrative marble industry due to an abundance of Italian-quality marble, hence, its moniker as the “Marble Capital of the Philippines.”
1. Fort San Andres- Romblon- Fort San Andres is an imposing lookout over the Poblacion (Main town) of Romblon Island in Romblon Province. Fort San Andres is the last surviving fortification from the period of the Spanish Occupation of Trinidad, which came to an end in 1797 with the capture of the island by the British. As early as 1733, a fortification called Fort San Andres was planned to replace a redoubt of fascines and earth, which was the only defense to Port of Spain. The 17th century Spanish Fortress is now a crumbling reminder of the rich history of Romblon.
2. ST. JOSEPH CATHEDRAL, ROMBLON, ROMBLON- St. Joseph Cathedral was one of the 26 colonial churches that was declared as National Cultural Treasures in 2001. Aside from natural wonders, Romblon has other landmarks that tourist can also explore. This church was considered as the oldest Roman Catholic church in the capital town of Romblon. Every year, on the month of January, Romblon celebrates the traditional fiesta to honor their patron saint; St. Nino. St Joseph Cathedral may be small compared with regular cathedral sizes but the ambiance is really perfect for anybody to commune with God.
3. Apunan Point Lighthouse, Agpanabat, Romblon, Romblon
Established in 1973, the 62-feet steel framework tower stands proudly with its old counterpart (established in 1930s) just a few meters away in Barangay Palje in the southernmost section of Romblon Island. The new lighthouse has an octagonal white metal tower with a gallery at the top. From the top, one can have a breathtaking view of the Sibuyan Sea, Romblon Strait, Tablas Island, Sibuyan Island, and, of course, the surrounding landscape of Romblon Island itself.
4. Banton Church- Banton Romblon- The Saint Nicholas of Tolentino Parish Church, commonly known as Banton Church, is a Roman Catholic church in the Municipality of Banton in Romblon province in the Philippines. It is allegedly one of the oldest churches in the country, constructed between 1644-1650 during the Spanish colonial period. Banton was first mentioned in history when it was written in the chronicle of Maestre de Campo Martin de Goiti in his voyage to Manila on May 12, 1570 by the instruction of Miguel Lopez de Legaspi that was then resided in the island of Panay. The façade and tower of the present church is Modern.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here